SWCE Nominating Committee announce board candidates for 2022

The Nominating Committee for Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric have announced their selection of candidates for the board seats up for election in Districts 2, 4, and 6 at this year’s annual meeting scheduled Tuesday, June 7, 2022.

The committee first met Nov. 11, 2021, at Steele-Waseca’s headquarters in Owatonna. General Manager Syd Briggs reviewed the duties of the Nominating Committee as stated in the co-op’s bylaws, the activities and conduct of individual board members policy, the qualifications for eligibility for service on the co-op’s board of directors policy, the director election filing form and affirmation of director qualifications, and questions concerning qualifications for director.

Board President Gary Wilson highlighted areas of the board of director position description with the committee. Wilson addressed potential questions a candidate may have, highlighting the time commitment it takes to be a board director.

Briggs reviewed the selection process with the committee. He explained the nominating committee policy and the rotation plan for the committee which works on a rotation system that keeps six experienced members on the committee, and adds three new members each year.

A list of members in each district was provided, and it was suggested that committee members from each district meet together to search for candidates and review the information given to them.

Nominations for committee chairperson for the January meeting were opened, Denise Bartness volunteered, and Wilson declared her nominating committee chairperson. After no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

The Nominating Committee conducted their second meeting Jan. 19, 2022, at Steele-Waseca’s headquarters. Cooperative Attorney Tricia Lancaster reviewed the director duties, standard of conduct policy, and qualifications for eligibility for service on the board of directors policy.

Briggs reviewed the director position description, highlighting director responsibilities, board-manager relations, board-cooperative member relations, and board-community relations.

The names of the following candidates were submitted, and will appear on the election ballot for Steele-Waseca’s 86th annual meeting scheduled, June 7, 2022, at the co-op’s headquarters located at 2411 W. Bridge St., Owatonna:

• District 2: Geraldine G. Lienke (incumbent), Janesville.

• District 4: Dennis C. Ringhofer (incumbent), Owatonna.

• District 6: Michael T. Herman, Owatonna; and Gary W. Wilson (incumbent), Owatonna.

A profile of each candidate will appear in the May 2022 Sparks newsletter. Additional candidates may be nominated from the floor during the annual meeting with nominations closing at that time. This year’s Nominating Committee consisted of the following Steele-Waseca members: District 2—Ryan/Jenny Angelow, Faribault; Joyce Ahlman, Faribault; Dale/Lynn Groskreutz, New Richland; District 4—Keith/Carol Schrader, Nerstrand; Glenn/Linda Wiesjhan, Owatonna; and Denise Bartness, Owatonna; District 6—Joseph Haberman, Blooming Prairie; Patricia Pagel, Faribault; and John/Lylia Iverson, Medford.