Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric announces appointments for 2023 Nominating Committee

The Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric board of directors have made appointments to the 2023 Nominating Committee.

It is the nominating committee’s responsibility to prepare the list of director candidates, and post it at the cooperative’s office at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting scheduled Tuesday, June 6, 2023.

The election of directors will take place during the business portion of the annual meeting, held at Steele-Waseca’s headquarters, located at 2411 West Bridge Street in Owatonna.

All Steele-Waseca members are eligible to serve as board directors. The governance role of directors can be summarized as being responsible for setting the overall policy, and monitoring the business affairs of the cooperative.

If you are interested in becoming a director, you may call Executive Assistant Jenifer Shimpach at Steele-Waseca, and a director nomination form will be sent to you.

Or, if you know another member who would make a good director, and you want him or her to be considered, please contact the nominating committee member nearest you. However, before you make the request, be certain the person will accept the position if nominated.

The Nominating Committee will conduct two in-person meetings. The first is scheduled Wednesday, Nov. 9. The second meeting is scheduled Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2023. The committee would appreciate any assistance you can provide in helping them select director candidates.

All Steele-Waseca members are eligible to vote each year for all expiring board director positions.

The districts electing directors at Steele-Waseca’s 87th annual meeting include the following:

•  District 7: The Northeast and Southeast one quarters (NE & SE 1/4’s) of Warsaw Township; the Northwest and Southwest one quarters (NW & SW 1/4’s) of Walcott Township; the Northwest, Northeast and Southeast one quarters (NW, NE & SE 1/4’s) of Wells Township in Rice County. (Represented by John Beal)

• District 8: Kenyon Township in Goodhue County; Richland, Wheeling, Cannon City, Bridgewater, Upper Bridgewater and Northfield Townships, and the Northeast and Southeast one quarters (NE & SE 1/4’s) of Walcott Township in Rice County. (Represented by Ronald Sommers)

• District 9: Forest, Webster, Wheatland Townships, and the Southwest, Northwest and Northeast one quarters (SW, NW & NE 1/4’s) of Erin Township in Rice County. (Represented by Renee Malecha)