Nominating Committee determines board of director nominees

Steele-Waseca’s bylaws require the board of directors to appoint a Nominating Committee consisting of no less than five cooperative members. Each year’s committee is responsible for an important part of the cooperative process—to select nominees for the board seats up for election.

The committee met Nov. 11, 2021, at Steele-Waseca’s headquarters in Owatonna.

General Manager Syd Briggs reviewed the duties of the Nominating Committee as stated in co-op’s bylaws, the activities and conduct of individual board members policy, the qualifications for eligibility for service on the co-op’s board of directors policy, the director election filing form and affirmation of director qualifications, and questions concerning qualifications for director.

The Nominating Committee works on a rotation system that keeps six experienced members on the committee, and adds three new members each year.
A list of members in each district was provided, and it was suggested that committee members from each district meet together to discuss the search for candidates and review the information given to them.
Nominations for committee chairperson for the January meeting were opened, Denise Bartness volunteered, and Board President Gary Wilson declared her nominating committee chairperson. After no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

The Nominating Committee conducted their second meeting on Jan. 19, 2022, at Steele-Waseca’s headquarters. Cooperative Attorney Tricia Lancaster reviewed the director duties, standard of conduct policy, and qualifications for eligibility for service on the board of directors policy.
The names of the following candidates were submitted, and will appear on the election ballot for Steele-Waseca’s 86th annual meeting scheduled June 7, 2022, at the co-op’s headquarters located at 2411 W. Bridge St., Owatonna:

District 2  Geraldine G. Lienke (incumbent), Janesville.

District 4 Dennis C. Ringhofer (incumbent), Owatonna.

District 6  Michael T. Herman, Owatonna;
and Gary W. Wilson (incumbent), Owatonna.

Additional nominations will be from the floor during the business portion of the annual meeting until the nominations officially close and the election is held.

Steele-Waseca wishes to thank all of the committee members for their time and service.

Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric’s 2022 Nominating Committee included the following members (front row, left to right): Linda Wiesjhan, Owatonna; Lylia Iverson, Medford; Lynn Groskreutz, New Richland; and Denise Bartness, Owatonna. Back row (left to right): Glenn Wiesjhan, Owatonna; John Iverson, Medford; Dale Groskreutz, New Richland; and Keith Schrader, Nerstrand. Not pictured: Ryan and Jenny Angelow, Faribault; Joseph Haberman, Blooming Prairie; Carol Schrader, Nerstrand; Joyce Ahlman, Faribault; and Patricia Pagel, Faribault.