Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric announces 2024 Nominating Committee appointments

The Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric board of directors have approved appointments to the 2024 Nominating Committee.

It is the nominating committee’s responsibility to prepare the list of director candidates, and post it at the cooperative’s office at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting scheduled Tuesday, June 4, 2024.

Director election results will be announced during the business portion of the annual meeting, held at Steele-Waseca’s headquarters, located at 2411 West Bridge Street in Owatonna. The board has yet to decide how the election will be taking place since new bylaws were approved by the membership during this past year’s annual meeting allowing more inclusive measures for voting for directors. There will no longer be voting for directors at the annual meeting.

All Steele-Waseca members are eligible to serve as board directors. The governance role of directors can be summarized as being responsible for setting the overall policy, and monitoring the business affairs of the cooperative.

If you are interested in becoming a director, you may call Executive Assistant Jenifer Shimpach at Steele-Waseca, and a director nomination form will be sent to you.

Or, if you know another member who would make a good director, and you want him or her to be considered, please contact the nominating committee member nearest you. However, before you make the request, be certain the person will accept the position if nominated.

The Nominating Committee will conduct two in-person meetings. The first is scheduled Wednesday, Nov. 15. The second meeting is scheduled Thursday, Jan. 18, 2024. The committee would appreciate any assistance you can provide in helping them select director candidates.

All Steele-Waseca members are eligible to vote each year for all expiring board director positions.
The districts with directors up for election in 2024 include the following:

  • District 1: Kilkenny Township in LeSueur County, Shieldsville and Morristown Townships and the Southeast one quarter (SE 1/4) of Erin Township, Southwest one quarter (SW 1/4) of Wells Township, and the Northwest one quarter (NW 1/4) of Warsaw Township in Rice County. (Represented by PJ Duchene)
  • District 3: Hartland Township in Freeborn County; New Richland, Otisco, Woodville, Blooming Grove and Iosco Townships in Waseca County; Lemond Township, the Northwest one quarter (NW 1/4) and the Northeast one quarter (NE 1/4) of Berlin Township, and the Northwest one quarter (NW 1/4) and the Southwest one quarter (SW 1/4) of Somerset Township in Steele County. (Has yet to be board appointed following the death of Duane Edwardson)
  • District 5: Newry Township in Freeborn County; Aurora and Blooming Prairie Townships, and the Southwest one quarter (SW 1/4) of Havana Township in Steele County, and Westfield, Ripley, Ashland and Hayfield Townships in Dodge County. (Represented by Rodney Krell)